Join now - be part of our community!

RX10 IV

profile.country.GB.title
daviddmorison
New

RX10 IV

I've just received my RX10 IV with the intention of it eventually replacing my Canon 7DII telephoto setup which is now too heavy to carry any distance. My main interest is wildlife photgraphy so the ultra fast AF was a big attraction. However after just one days use I am ready to send it back! Yes the AF is brilliant, catching birds in flight easily but the definition is appalling! I have been using a Nikon P900 as a travel camera and more recently for wildlife in place of the Canon DSLR outfit as it is so much lighter and the definition from this camera at the same settings is a league better than the RX10 IV. I don't think I'm doing anything wrong as I have 50 years of photography experience and never had such disappoiting results. Any thoughts please before I return it?

7 REPLIES 7
profile.country.GB.title
EdwinaU

Hi David, 

Welcome to the community.

That's a shame. This camera does have HDMI settings so you should be able to achieve great definition. Perhaps, you could post some images and more details of the settings you are currently using so that we can look into this? Also, there is an online help guide for more information about settings  here.

Best wishes,

Ed

profile.country.GB.title
CWT000
Explorer

This camera has a 1" sensor so the image quality is not going to be as good as the 7D which has a cropped sensor. Nevertheless, I moved to the RX10 from a Canon 6D full frame with a 100-400 L series for the same reason as you - weight. Being able to carry a camera with a 600mm lens in one hand has enormous benefits and I now find the image quality perfectly OK. I rarely print bigger than A4 but even the few A3s that I have printed have been quite acceptable.  Maybe you have a faulty camera1

profile.country.GB.title
daviddmorison
New