Meet our photo competition winner

profile.country.DE.title
Peter_S.
Genius
639  Views

Photography is not my only passion.

I recently turned 70. I make animated films and work really hard to have them ready for film festivals.

http://www.danielzagorski.com/

I have done lots of extreme and crazy things in my life. I built and flew hang gliders and motor gliders. In 1991, I won the Polish motor gliding championships. I have cycled over most of the mountains in Poland and taken part in mountain bike marathons, and I was also very active during my "Pioneer" days (a former Polish youth organisation similar to the Boy Scout movement).

As a graphic artist, I have my own workshop, where I work on etching, aquatinting, mezzotinting, lithography and linocuts.

Photography has always been in my life. My father was an amateur photographer and I spent many hours with him in the darkroom from an early age. I started my adventures with an analogue camera. At that time, there was only one option: the Soviet-produced Zenit camera. Later there was the Praktica from the GDR with my favourite 20-mm lens. To this day I use the 42-mm PENTACON 1:1.8 50-mm lens.I also used a bellows camera with 9 x 14 cm film and Pentacon 6 x 6, which I brought to the Tatra Mountains along with its heavy 35-mm and 180-mm lenses, e.g. to the Świnica and Rysy mountains...

Daniel Zagorski.jpg

Then I took up workshop graphics.... Then there were 3D animated films.

All the time, I was accompanied by the now-digital Canon 550D camera... with which I also made films that were awarded at festivals, such as "Interpretations" — a film about a painter, which I made with 3D animation.

The photo that won the competition was one of a series of self-portraits. Below are some others from this cycle.

Daniel Zagorski 2.jpg